Politics and Utopia in Architecture: Shaping Future Societies

Melbourne Design Week

Online - YouTube Premier

MSD at HOME_ Politics and Utopia in Architecture: Shaping Future Societies

Do architecture and architects have the potential to enhance necessary future societal changes, that could address our current crisis, from climate collapse and the loss of biodiversity to social in-justice? Does architecture have utopian agency? A discussion around utopian architecture, utopian societies, historical examples and socio-political experiments.

Panelists

Prof. Felicity D. Scott is professor of architecture, director of the PhD program in Architecture (History and Theory), and co-director of the program in Critical, Curatorial and Conceptual Practices in Architecture (CCCP) at the Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Columbia University. Her books include Architecture or Techno-Utopia: Politics After Modernism (MIT Press, 2007), Ant Farm (ACTAR, 2008), Outlaw Territories: Environments of Insecurity/Architectures of Counter-Insurgency (Zone Books, 2016), and Disorientations: Bernard Rudofsky in the Empire of Signs (Sternberg Press, 2016).

A/Prof. Lee Stickells is an Associate Professor in Architecture at the University of Sydney. His historical research on international countercultural and ecological design experimentation has been published widely across scholarly, professional and popular media. He contributes to the Architectural Theory Review editorial committee and the International Advisory Board for Counterculture Studies. Most often, though, he can be found riding bikes.

Dr Jonathan Lovell is an architectural historian whose research explores architecture’s potential as a medium of communication. He has recently completed a PhD at the University of Melbourne, which investigated how the artists involved with the Expanded Cinema movement of the 1960-70s used the combined force of media, performance, and architecture to evoke the phenomenological conditions associated with transcendental experiences.

Moderators

A/Prof. Rochus Urban Hinkel’s research and practice focuses on applications of virtual, augmented and mixed realities for design practice, storytelling, and new modes of collaboration. In 2020 VR movie 'Voices of Country', developed with support by the NExT Lab (MSD) and Büro Achter April (DE), explored digital storytelling and was presented at one of the world's leading media arts festival: Ars Electronica. He is the recipient of The UniSA, The SIDA Foundation and The David Roche Foundation’s inaugural Curatorial Research Fellowship for the digital craft project 'The Doppelgaenger'.

Rochus is Associate Professor in Architecture and Design at the University of Melbourne and has taught architecture, interior design and industrial design in previous positions, including Professor of Artistic Design at OTH Regensburg, Germany, and Professor of Interior Architecture and Furniture Design at Konstfack, University of Arts, Craft and Design, Stockholm, Sweden

Dr Peter Raisbeck is an Architect, Design Teacher and Researcher. He teaches Design, Design Activism and Architectural Practice at the Melbourne School of Design. His work explores architecture's intersection with global finance, new technologies, procurement, design activism, politics, and architectural history.

Presentation

Date: Thursday 1 April 2021

Time: 19:00 - 20:30 AEDT* Melbourne (UTC +11)

Venue: Online - Youtube Premier

Event link: Once you have registered for the event, the event link will be sent to you via your Eventbrite confirmation email and reminder emails.

* Singapore: Thursday 1 April 2021, 16:00 - 17:30; SGT
* Jakarta: Thursday 1 April 2021, 15:00 - 16:30;WIB
* Dubai: Thursday 1 April 2021, 12:00 - 13:30; GST
* London: Thursday 1 April 2021, 09:00 - 10:30; BST
* New York: Thursday 1 April 2021, 04:00 - 05:30; EDT
* Los Angeles: Thursday 1 April 2021, 01:00 - 02:30; PDT

Politics and Utopia in Architecture

This event is part of a series of three Politics and Utopia in Architecture panels conducted by the MSD during Melbourne Design Week.

Melbourne Design Week 2021 events

Image credit:
_ Arial view of caretaker shed with aviary and greenhouses
Scenes from Dylan Newell’s project in Studio 40, Augmented Reality by Dylan Newell, Melissa Iraheta, Tony Yu, Rochus Hinkel, MSD NExT Lab

Subscribe to MSD News for more events