The Climate Imaginary Roundtable

Melbourne Design Week

Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Event hosts: Leire Asensio Villoria & David Mah, Melbourne School of Design

In the public imagination, the climate emergency narrative is largely defined by scientific facts and clouded by political debate.  Sustainability has also consumed the design world but is frequently tempered by a technological emphasis.

There is an emerging body of work emanating from the design imaginary that bridges the technological, political and cultural, offering a visionary engagement with the climate emergency.

The Climate Imaginary will showcase a growing body of work from both local and international designers, researchers and students that offer us captivating visions of an imaginative commitment to addressing the climate emergency.

A conversation between some of the leading figures working on the climate imaginary will be hosted on the University of Melbourne’s online platform.  Talking through their projects, the exhibitors and speakers will engage in a larger conversation on the Climate Imaginary.

MSD at HOME_ The Climate Imaginary Roundtable

Participants:

  • Rania Ghosn & El-Hadi Jazairy - Design Earth (USA)
  • Belinda Tato - Ecosistema Urbano (Spain/USA)
  • Johnathan Scelsa & Jennifer Birkeland - op.AL (USA)
  • Fadi Masoud – University of Toronto (Canada)
  • Monique Woodward & Isobel Moy - Wowowa (Australia)
  • Louise Wright - Baracco+Wright (Australia)

Roundtable

Date: Tuesday 30 March, 2021

Time: 12:00 - 13:30 AEDT* Melbourne (UTC +11)

Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Event Link: Once you have registered for the event, the event link will be sent to you via Eventbrite confirmation emails.

*Singapore: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 09:00 - 10:30
*Jakarta: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 08:00 - 09:30
*London: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 01:00 - 02:30
*Dubai: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 05:00 - 06:30

Melbourne Design Week 2021 events

Subscribe to MSD News for more events