Dean's Lecture Series with Kotchakorn Voraakhom

Dean's Lecture Series with Kotchakorn Voraakhom

Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

MSD at HOME

Landscape Porosity: Why we need Water-Based Urbanism

Kotchakorn VORAAKHOM and Jillian WALLISS

Creating urban spaces that allow for the free flow and penetration of water and wind is essential to the survival of water-based cities like Bangkok. “Landscape porosity” can help us better understand and defend these urban ecosystems in times of climate change

Kotchakorn Voraakhom

Kotchakorn Voraakhom is a landscape architect from Thailand who works on building productive green public space that tackles climate change in urban dense areas and climate-vulnerable communities.

Opened in 2017, Chulalongkorn Centenary Park is the first critical piece of green infrastructure in Bangkok to reduce urban flood risk. With on-site water management, the park can collect, treat, and hold up to one million gallons of water, alleviating overwhelmed public sewage during heavy rainfall. In 2019, Thammasat Urban Rooftop Farm, Asia’s largest, was opened. Landprocess repurposed wasted rooftop space to address food and water scarcity in preparation for future climate challenges. In 2020, Chao Phraya Sky Park was realized. Once an inaccessible and incomplete sky railway, the old ruins are now whole, becoming the first realized bridge park to cross a river in any capital city in the world.

Voraakhom is featured in 2019, TIME 100 Next, a list from TIME Magazine —that spotlights 100 rising stars who are shaping the future of the world. She is also on the list of 15 women fighting against climate change from TIME. This year she was named BBC100 Women, the Green 30 for 2020 by Bloomberg. Recently, she got an award from United Nations as Winners of the 2020 UN Global Climate Action Awards, Women for Results. Voraakhom is a Chairwoman of the Climate Change Working Group of the International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA World), TED Fellow, Echoing Green Climate Fellow, Atlantic Fellow. She received her master's in landscape architecture from Harvard University's Graduate School of Design.

Dean's Lecture Series with Kotchakorn Voraakhom

Presentation

Date: Tuesday 10 August 2021
Time: 18:00 - 19:30 AEST* Melbourne
Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar
Event link: Once you have registered for the event, the event link will be sent to you via your Eventbrite confirmation email and reminder emails.

*Bangkok, Thailand Tue, 10 Aug 2021 at 3:00 pm ICT
*Singapore, Singapore Tue, 10 Aug 2021 at 4:00 pm SGT
*London, United Kingdom Tue, 10 Aug 2021 at 9:00 am BST
*Dubai, United Arab Emirates Tue, 10 Aug 2021 at 12:00 noon GST
*New York, USA Tue, 10 Aug 2021 at 4:00 am EDT

Subscribe to MSD News for more events