Operative Models: The Case of Harith Augustus

Forensic Architecture

Online

AA Visiting School

MSD at HOME and AA Visiting Schools Melbourne presents: Christina VARVIA

On 14 July 2018, Harith Augustus, a Black barber from the South Shore of Chicago, US, was shot by Chicago police. His killing fits well within the framework of racialised police killings in Chicago. The lecture will present the six-part investigation of the killing of Harith Augustus by Forensic Architecture and the Invisible Institute. Drawing from this case, as well as student work from Diploma unit 3 of the Architectural Association—which experimented with the techniques developed by Forensic Architecture—the lecture will introduce the concept of Operative Models, which suggests a variety of ways that model-making can be used politically while serving investigative practices.

Christina Varvia is currently a Research Fellow and formerly the Deputy Director of Forensic Architecture. She was trained as an architect and has taught at the Architectural Association. She is currently pursuing her PhD at Aarhus University and has received the Novo Nordisk Foundation Mads Øvlisen PhD Scholarship; she is also a Fellow at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art. She is a founding member and the chair of the board of Forensis.

Presentation and Q+A

Date: Tuesday, 6 July 2021

Time: 18:15 - 19:30 AEST* Melbourne (UTC +10)

Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Event link: Once you have registered for the event, you will be sent the event link 2 days before the event and then again 2 hours before the event begins

* London: Tuesday, 6 July 2021, 09:15 - 10:30; BST
* Singapore: Tuesday, 6 July 2021, 16:15 - 17:30; SGT
* Dubai: Tuesday, 6 July 2021, 12:15 - 13:30; GST
* New York: Tuesday, 6 July 2021, 04:15 - 05:30; EDT​
* Los Angeles: Tuesday, 6 July 2021, 01:15 - 02:30; PDT

AA Visiting School Public Lecture Series:

Subscribe to MSD News for more events