Unnatural Disaster

Unnatural Disasters

Online

AA Visiting School

MSD at HOME and AA Visiting Schools Melbourne presents: Adolfo DEL VALLE NEIRA and Oskar JOHANSON

In this lecture, Adolfo Del Valle and Oskar Johanson will discuss catastrophic climate change and the limits of comprehension, through the lenses of geotrauma and the hyperobject. They will consider the Australian Black Summer bushfires of 2019-2020 in particular, a series of events that revealed the atomised effects of climate change and the inherent entanglement of climate breakdown with settler-colonial projects such as Australia.

Oskar Johanson

Oskar Johanson (AA Dipl’19) is an Australian-British designer, writer, and educator. He is a Research Fellow at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie. With Adolfo Del Valle, he co-directs the Architectural Association Visiting School Sydney. His essay ‘Degenerate Ark’ won first prize of The Avery Review Essay Prize in 2019 and is currently being adapted for an exhibition at Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam. From Sydney, he lives in London.

Adolfo Del Valle Neira

Adolfo Del Valle Neira (ARB/RIBA Part I, UdK MA‘20) is a Peruvian-American architect and writer. He is a collaborator at Raumlaborberlin and currently works for ZUsammenKUNFT eG on the About Urban Praxis project at the Haus der Statistik. With Oskar Johanson, he co-directs the Architectural Association Visiting School Sydney. He was a core team member for the Making Futures Summer School at the Haus der Statistik, Berlin. His work on Making Futures will feature in an upcoming publication published by Spector Books in autumn 2021.

Presentation and Q+A

Date: Tuesday, 13 July 2021

Time: 18:15 - 19:30 AEST* Melbourne (UTC +10)

Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Event link: Once you have registered for the event, you will be sent the event link 2 days before the event and then again 2 hours before the event begins

* London: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 09:15 - 10:30; BST
* Singapore: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 16:15 - 17:30; SGT
* Dubai: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 12:15 - 13:30; GST
* New York: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 04:15 - 05:30; EDT
‚Äč* Los Angeles: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 01:15 - 02:30; PDT
*Berlin: Tuesday, 13 July 2021, 10:15 - 11:30; CEST

AA Visiting School Public Lecture Series:

Image annotation: Unnatural Disaster

Subscribe to MSD News for more events