MSD at HOME with Osamu Nishida

MSD at HOME

Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Interactive Architecture - The inherent potential of bringing people together

MSD at HOME with Osamu NISHIDA and Djordje STOJANOVIC

YouTube embed with caption and default 16:9 ratio

In modern Japanese cities, the home is in an introverted sanctuary in many regards. Social interactions, in the wider sense, mainly take place in public spaces. By rethinking residential typologies, and challenging the boundaries of privacy to a level in which we can co-live comfortably, we can facilitate ways of sharing and interacting to bring mutual benefits to everyone involved, socially, economically and environmentally, which will, in the end, enrich the quality of our daily lifestyles. Architectural design processes tend to be rather closed in many cases, and there always seems to be a clear distinction in role between the architect and the users. Interactive architecture, on the other hand, requires users to be involved not just from the design phase but also in the execution; together with the architect, users themselves take part in maintenance, or organizations of events and activities taking place within. In interactive architecture, the role of the architect does not end at completion.

In this lecture we will be introducing four projects, ranging in scale from small to big, to show how we approach interactivity through our practice, and how residents and local communities can be engaged through architectural planning.

Osamu Nishida

Osamu Nishida is the principal architect of ondesign co., ltd., which designs open and impartial architecture in various type of buildings, using their unique method to communicate with users to enhance creativity. His representative work includes Yokohama Apartment (JIA rookie of the year award and the special jury mention at Venice Biennale (special entry at Japan Pavilion)), ISHINOMAKI 2.0 (Good Design Special Award - Disaster Recovery Design and Community Recovery Award - Special Award) and Ikikuni Learning Center which is a base of learning in Ama-cho, Shimane prefecture. He is the author of Kenchiku o hiraku (Open the architecture) and Experiment from OnDesign.

www.ondesign.co.jp

Presentation and Q&A

Date: Tuesday 9 March, 2021
Time: 17:00 - 18:30 AEDT* Melbourne (UTC +11)
Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar
Event Link: Once you have registered for the event, the event link will be sent to you via Eventbrite confirmation emails.

*Singapore: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 14:00 - 15:30
*Jakarta: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 13:00 - 14:30
*London: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 6:00 - 7:30
*Dubai: Tuesday 9 March 2021, 10:00 - 11:30

Subscribe to MSD News for more events