Graduate Dean's Honours Awards recognise student achievements

Melbourne School of Design celebrated students’ outstanding academic achievements during 2017 at the Dean’s Honours Awards on 15 May.

Award recipients, sponsors, guests and Melbourne School of Design staff gather on the stairs at MSD.

Award recipients, sponsors, guests and Melbourne School of Design staff. Photo:Jonathan Mackojc.

The awards recognised academic merit across MSD’s graduate programs and included a number of special awards to celebrate excellence in particular areas of study and research.

Dean's Honours List

  • Graduate Diploma in Property Valuation

    Olivia Shackell

  • Master of Architecture

    Sasha Briner
    Audrey Cavalera
    Jeremy Jenn Ren Cheang
    Zachariah Dahdoule
    David Geoghegan
    Nicola Inskip
    Alice Khoury
    Cameron Lane
    Hana Nihill
    Olivia Potter
    Hannah Puckey
    Benjamin Quarrill
    Anni Ruuskanen
    Ben Shackleton
    Audrey Songan
    Lilian Szumer
    Sally Thornton
    Michael Thorpe
    Muy Troeung
    Nathania Widjanarko
    Toby Woolley

  • Master of Architectural Engineering

    Robert Graham Snelling

  • Master of Construction Management

    Jay Barnes
    Bevan Botha
    Ezgi Bridger
    Chia-Hung Hsu
    Di Ma
    Polyvios Nicolaou
    Laurence Ritchie
    Varsha Sunil Shenoy
    Zari Subhlok
    Lei Ye
    Zhenzhen Zeng

  • Master of Landscape Architecture

    Gillian Ashley
    Colin Haifan Chen
    Adrian Cook
    Iris Fong
    Kate Grant
    Momoka Kawauchi
    Laisze Li
    Kendal McQuire
    Kunpeng Wang
    Carmen Yuen

  • Master of Property

    Vicki Fang
    Cancan He
    Verity Jenkins
    Erryn Mcrae
    Nga Vi
    Christopher Wolfe

  • Master of Urban and Cultural Heritage

    Mihajlo Elakovic

  • Master of Urban Design

    Siyu Chen
    Hector Parra Perilla

  • Master of Urban Planning

    Jasper Arrowsmith-Todd
    Jessie Briggs
    Richard Clarke
    Corina de Araujo
    Jenny Divine
    Guillermo Gómez Pedrozo Michel
    Emily Hobbs
    Philip Mallis
    Michael Prior
    Linda Randall
    Elizabeth Webster

A series of prizes celebrated specific achievements, such as the DesignInc Positive Legacy of Design Award, for the best design from any discipline with potential to have positive social and ecological outcomes, and the inaugural Denton Corker Marshall Award, for excellence in design at the end of the first year in the Master of Architecture.

Denton Corker Marshall founding director and University of Melbourne alumnus John Denton presented the award to Audrey Cavalera. He said after many years in the industry, he felt it was important to support architecture students to achieve their goals and progress through their career.

“Bill Corker, Barrie Marshall and I had our first day of architecture together here a long time ago. We’ve been able to succeed and I think if you can give others a chance to succeed, that’s really important,” Mr Denton said.

Professor Donald Bates, award recipient Audrey Cavalera, John Denton

Professor Donald Bates, Denton Corker Marshall award recipient Audrey Cavalera, John Denton. Photo: Paul Philipson.

Other Prizes and Awards

  • Architecture

    Architect Michael Kaufman Scholarships
    Astha Garg
    Aji Sofiana Putri
    Zarrin Salami
    Yichen Wang
    Haotian Wu
    Chantalle Yarrow

    Denton Corker Marshall Award
    Audrey Cavalera

    Dulux Colour Award
    Cameron Lane

    Edward and Penelope Billson Prize in Architecture
    Alice Schenk-Green
    Michael Thorpe

    Ernest Fooks Memorial Award
    Ben Shackleton

    John Charles Lloyd Exhibition
    Robert Graham Snelling

    Macdonald Scholarship
    Natalie Keynton

    Nell Norris Scholarship
    Year 4 Audrey Cavalera
    Year 5 Zachariah Dahdoule

    Richard Falkinger Scholarship
    Joy Welch

    SJB Scholarship
    Jeremy Jenn Ren Cheang

  • Construction

    Chartered Institute of Building Award (PG Coursework)
    Zhenzhen Zeng

    Forster Family Foundation Scholarship
    Jamie Kerr

    Hansen Yuncken Prize
    Zhenzhen Zeng

    Harry Wexler AIQS Prize
    Belinda Choo Colosimo

  • Landscape Architecture

    Catherin Bull Scholarship in Landscape Architecture
    Jiawei Shen

    Ellis Stones Memorial Awards
    Antonia Besa Lehmann
    Colin Haifan Chen

    Rina Mackley Award for Architects in Landscape Architecture
    Marina Pizzotti

    Steve Calhoun Scholarship
    Kate Grant

  • Property

    Australian Property Institute Domestic Postgraduate Student Award
    Vicki Fang

    Australian Property Institute International Postgraduate Student Award
    Kah Khong Liew

  • Urban Planning

    Fred Ledgar Prize in Urban Planning
    Jenny Divine

    SGS Graham Larcombe Award
    Jessie Briggs

  • Urban Design

    DesignInc Positive Legacy of Design Award
    Carey Landwehr

The architecture awards included the Macdonald Scholarship, which promotes advancement in the profession by offering students an opportunity, through travel, to pursue architectural research and gain professional experience. Another highlight of the ceremony was the awarding of the SJB Scholarship, which supports outstanding students in the Master of Architecture.

In the urban planning discipline, the SGS Graham Larcombe Award recognised a demonstrated interest in equity and social disadvantage issues in urban development. This year’s recipient, Jessie Briggs, said she felt privileged and encouraged to continue pursuing her interests.

“I’m in the middle of my studies, so it’s been a lovely validation of the path I’m going down,” she said.

“I’m currently doing my thesis in socio-ecological resilience and how it affects the vulnerable, so I want to continue down that path.”

SGS Economics & Planning principal and partner Patrick Fensham presented the award. He said it was a chance to support the profession and encourage students who showed an interest in areas such as equality and future cities.

“Being a values-based business, we’re very interested in inequality across the metropolitan area and the opportunities and lifestyle people can have in cities,” he said. “Studying planning is a great place for students to learn about this.”

Dr John Stone, award recipient Jessie Briggs, Patrick Fensham

Dr John Stone, SGS Graham Larcombe Award recipient Jessie Briggs, Patrick Fensham. Photo: Paul Philipson.

The evening included a presentation from Dr Andrea Cook, who was awarded the Graham Treloar Fellowship for Early Career Researchers for 2017. Dr Cook shared a snapshot of her research and what the fellowship enabled her to achieve. Dr Kerry Nice was announced as the Fellowship recipient for 2018.

  • Research Awards

    Chartered Institute of Building Research Award
    Dr Giorgio Marfella

    Bharat Dave Scholarship
    Alessandro Liuti

    Dean’s Prize for Published Postgraduate Research
    First Prize
    Renee Miller-Yeaman
    Alexei Trundle
    Second Prize
    Sripallavi Nadimpalli
    Alicia Yon

    Graham Treloar Fellowship for Early Career Researchers
    Dr Kerry Nice

    John Grice Award
    Dr Giorgio Marfella

    Janet A Schapper Postdoctoral Fellowship in Landscape Architecture
    Dr Karen Olsen