Women in Transport Leadership in Australasia Knowledge Network

Creating knowledge, fostering partnerships and empowering women and women leaders in transport for positive change in Australasia

Women in Transport Leadership or WiTL is the first knowledge network created in the Australasian region solely dedicated to empowering women and developing a critical mass of female transport leaders. It serves as a platform for creating knowledge, fostering innovation and empowering person to person collaborative linkages amongst female transport leaders in Australia and ASEAN.

The Women in Transportation Leadership Network WiTL is a platform to produce knowledge, foster innovation and increase female to female collaborative linkages in Australasia. The knowledge network aims to strengthen female capabilities and increase leadership opportunities to address the diverse transport challenges, particularly issues related to gender and transport, which is key to achieving a more holistic and inclusive global community. It promotes a positive contemporary image of Australian female leadership concerned with developing more collaborative, inclusive and supportive culture in research, education and practice.

We aim to:

  • Create stronger representation and advocacy of women’s issues in transportation;
  • Broaden awareness and understanding of Australian-ASEAN women’s challenges, barriers and facilitators, and opportunities in the transportation sector, including its wider global implications; and
  • Increase women initiated collaborative linkages and innovations, which continue to be an enduring challenge even up to the present.

Project details

Major Sponsors

Australia-ASEAN Council

Research Partners

Eastern Asia Society for Transportation Studies
University of the Philippines, National Center for Transportation Studies, Philippines
Ton Duc Thang University, Vietnam
Universiti Teknologi Mara, Malaysia
Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines

Project Team and Contacts

Dr Anabel Abuzo
Dr Danielle Guillen
Dr Iderlina Mateo-Babiano
Dr Masria Mustafa
Engr Pharinet Pheng
Dr Sheila Gaabucayan-Napalang
Dr Trin Tu Anh
Dr Trin Thuy Anh


Iderlina Mateo-Babiano