90 tons, 656 hours, 51 elements and 20 people

Magic Queen, (c) Zita Oberwalder

Online

AA Visiting School

MSD at HOME and AA Visiting Schools Melbourne presents: Daniela MITTERBERGER & Tiziano DERME

MaeiD presents their latest installation at the 17th International Architecture Exhibition of the Venice Architecture Biennale the 17th International Architecture Biennale Exhibition, titled Magic Queen. MAGIC QUEEN [from the series Artificial Ecologies] is an autonomous techno-organic environment of 3D printed soil and lime organic material. The environment will have the capacity to "learn", “sense”, and “gather” data on ecological patterns and will provide a fertile ground for a new set of relationships among humans, nature and technology - a “new wildness.

Daniela Mitterberger

Daniela Mitterberger is an architect and researcher with a strong interest in new media, the relationship between Human/Body within Digital Fabrication and Emerging Technologies. Currently, she is a Ph.D. researcher and A&T Ph.D. Fellow at the Chair of Architecture and Digital Fabrication (Prof. Fabio Gramazio, Prof. Matthias Kohler) focusing on intuition in digital design and robotic fabrication. Previously she was a lecturer at several international graduate and postgraduate programs, amongst others at the University of Melbourne (MSD), the Leopold-Franzens University Innsbruck and the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Her work has been recognized with several awards and has been widely exhibited at various galleries, institutions, and events including Ars Electronica Linz, Melbourne Triennial, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and Kunsthaus Graz. Daniela is the Co-founder and Director of MAEID

Tiziano Derme

Tiziano is an Architect, researcher and media Artist interested into the relationship between different media, materials and performativity. Currently Tiziano is assistant Professor and researcher at University of Innsbruck focusing on Autonomous and Robotic Interaction and fellow as emergent media Artist for the EMAP creative Europe program 2019. Previously he was teaching at several international graduate and postgraduate programs, amongst others at University of Melbourne, University of Tokyo. His work has been recognized with several grants and has been exhibited at various events, Institutions and galleries including Ars Electronica Linz, National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne, Singapore Art Biennale. Tiziano is the Co-Founder and Director of MAEID

Presentation and Q+A

Date: Thursday, 8 July 2021

Time: 18:15 - 19:30 AEST* Melbourne (UTC +10)

Venue: Online - ABP Zoom Webinar

Event link: Once you have registered for the event, you will be sent the event link 2 days before the event and then again 2 hours before the event begins

* London: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 09:15 - 10:30; BST
* Singapore: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 16:15 - 17:30; SGT
* Dubai: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 12:15 - 13:30; GST
* New York: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 04:15 - 05:30; EDT
​* Los Angeles: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 01:15 - 02:30; PDT
*Vienna: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 10:15 - 11:30; CEST
*Zürich: Thursday, 8 July 2021, 10:15 - 11:30; CEST

AA Visiting School Public Lecture Series:

Image Credit: Magic Queen, (c) Zita Oberwalder

Subscribe to MSD News for more events